Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-02-2013, 12:42 AM

166 posts, read 344,084 times

Advertisements

About Me: I am 27, and my girlfriend is 25. I grew up in Cincinnati, but have lived in Columbus for the past 4 years. She has lived in Columbus her entire life, except for her first 2 years of college in Missouri. I am a musician, and while I have tried the "making it with a band" thing and would be willing to give it another try, it's no longer something I define myself by. We both have a lot of friends and enjoy going out and having drinks, but we only party hard once a week or so. If we were to move now, we would probably spend the first 2-3 years living in an apartment in an urban neighborhood. After that, we would re-evaluate and either buy a house in our chosen city, or return to Columbus. I run my own business from home, so the job market isn't a huge issue for me. However, my girlfriend is a professional working in the environmental field, so finding a place with job opportunities in her sector would be important. We have no desire to have children, so we don't care at all about school districts or a place to raise a family. We currently rent a one-bedroom apartment for well under $800 a month. We are 5 minutes from downtown and our neighborhood is virtually crime-free. I've never lived in a huge city, so living in a high-crime area would be a bit of a turn-off.