Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-22-2019, 04:54 PM

14 posts, read 14,893 times

Advertisements

I'm a late 20s something lawyer who has never lived outside of Texas. I work in the oil and gas industry and opportunities here in Houston are plenty. I just passed the bar and I'm for the first time in life experiencing the young urban professional scene here in Houston and I'm really liking it. Problem is, I've lived in Texas my entire life and thinking that I might be missing out by not seeing what the rest of the country has to offer. Should I leave my hometown even if it means forgoing opportunities as well as missing out on what my friends/family are doing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-22-2019, 04:59 PM

264 posts, read 252,074 times
I wouldn't. You don't have to live in the cities to see what the rest of the USA has to offer as you can just travel. But why Denver of all places?

Old 07-22-2019, 05:24 PM

10,103 posts, read 14,514,498 times
I would take a few months off and travel--if you can, financially. Have some fun, explore places in the US and abroad, then come back and grind it out for a few years and make money. Reassess Houston after 2-3 years in a job, and if you are itching to move away, then do it, give yourself a year (get a job first before you move), and then reassess again.

Life is short--it goes by fast, and if you don't do something in your 20s you feel in your gut, you might regret it.

Old 07-22-2019, 05:37 PM