Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Cleveland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-03-2014, 04:12 PM

10 posts, read 32,353 times

Advertisements

Hey, I'm a 20-something CSU student moving from the Falls to a pretty nice townhouse with a friend. The immediate street is pretty nice, but some of the immediately surrounding areas are "so-so" - or worse.. IDK, haha. Would it be out of place to ask my landlord to install a security system or to let me have one installed? My father said I should have one. I saw signs on the street saying that it's monitored by security cameras and it's permit only for parking. But I'm an upper middle class white kid used to living in a bubble, haha. I have nice stuff (clothes, electronics, jewelry, furniture, etc.) and a new car (nothing fancy, just a ford). I've looked at the crime rates, but what's the likelihood? Any advice or suggestions would be nice. I've eaten and shopped in the area quite a few times before, but for everyday living activities ... Which gas stations should I avoid? Where should I shop (besides the market)? Which dry cleaning service is the best? Etc. First time living on my own. I never dormed. I'm clueless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-03-2014, 05:00 PM

11,052 posts, read 12,432,741 times
Honestly, and this is going to sound rude, but you don't sound like a "city" person. I don't know, just kinda see what happens. Why not move to like, Beachwood, or something?

Old 07-03-2014, 05:07 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjimmy24 View Post