U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-05-2011, 03:04 PM

9 posts, read 13,147 times

Advertisements

Ok heres my situation. I graduated with a BA in history in 2007. I taught and even subbed but i was laid off because im not certified. When i came back this year i decided i wanted to teach but this was before all the budget cuts and layoffs. Now i just feel lost. I started my certification and my roommate thinks i should keep going. I do have a knack for teaching and it is fun but since ive come back, i cant find a job that pays over 9 dollars. My roommate is constantly helping me out and it makes me feel bad that i cant even make it on my own with a degree.

At this point i feel like my choices are that i can suck it up, finish my certification and hope for the best if i dont get hired this year.i can try to go for my masters in education and be an assistant principal or i can actually grow up and try to get a degree in anpther field that will actually pay decent but theres no guarantee ill get a job and it will take me two years maybe three. So what do i do? Im in my 30s with no career and im drowning in financial misery
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-05-2011, 03:07 PM

26,343 posts, read 88,094,241 times
Sounds like either way you're two or three years away from getting a higher paying job?

Old 07-05-2011, 03:29 PM

4,036 posts, read 9,601,532 times