Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-21-2011, 08:47 PM

31 posts, read 81,327 times

Advertisements

Hey Everyone, I am a current student at Walden University, but leaving them due to the rumors of lack of recognition on behalf of employers. So with that being said, I am caught between two online schools, I prefer online because of my busy lifestyle and it has be very great to me so far.

I am caught between Fort Hays State University Online Justice Studies

Pros

Caring Staff so far, every time I call they take a lot of time with me to explain and go over everything being sure to answer my questions.

Much Cheaper Tuition then many online schools at only 174.00 per credit

Regionally Accredited and has be a traditional on campus since 1908/offering online classes since 1999

Variety of Online Courses for the Justice Programs which cover pretty much every avenue of criminal justice/criminology, such as collected evidence, dna, fingerprinting latent, and more.

Cons
Not sure about the reputation with employers
Their online portal for students could be improved heard a few rumors of systems failing which causes students to fail a test at no fault of their own. Talked to tech support and they stated that they are in all ways there to help and the student won't be held accountable.

Don't receive all the perks that on campus students receive such as internship placements, and in depth career assistance, and no tiger card unless the student comes in to receive one in Kansas.

ASU Online

Pros