Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
2,500,000 members. Thank you!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-28-2011, 11:06 PM

3,785 posts, read 4,624,248 times

Advertisements

How many of you went to school part-time while working a 40 hour a week job?

I just transferred to a 4 year college after receiving my associates. I really am not sure I'll be able to handle it. I'm majoring in accounting so I will take some very difficult classes. Between working 40 hours a week and taking 2 classes a semester of those type of business courses. I just am not sure I will be able to handle it.

I've been going to a CC for awhile part-time while working full time and I finally accomplished that. But I'm starting to think that I'm just getting in over my head.

I know it's possible but going part-time it will take 4-5 years so it's a long exhausting road.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-29-2011, 06:30 AM

912 posts, read 1,325,858 times
If you are having a hard time with two classes ,then reduce it if possibles to one .Ask yourself ,can I afford to work part time or is full time neccessary for your needs ?This is something only you can answer in regards to your financial matters .

Old 09-29-2011, 08:51 AM

12,058 posts, read 23,054,177 times
I did it with undergrad and I'm doing it now in grad school. I work 50 hours a week now. Sometimes I worked a lot more than that while in undergrad. Many people have done it, and will continue to do it. Whether you do it or not is up to you.