U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Mother`s Day to all Moms!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-06-2011, 06:30 PM

39 posts, read 69,930 times

Advertisements

I'm looking to make a career transition, currently, I'm unemployed and want to further my education. I have some experience in nonprofit and would like to return to that, but the job market is competitive. Two local universities offer programs I'm interested in, one is a Professional Certificate in nonprofit management, this is a noncredit certificate. The other is a Graduate Certificate in nonprofit management. This a 12 credit graduate level program.

I understand the graduate program will look better on my resume, but how much better? The graduate program costs several thousand dollars more. I can finish the professional certificate much faster, and for much cheaper.

My life goal is to own my own business, this is why I'm not currently investing in a full graduate degree or MBA.

I have a 4.0 Undergrad degree from a decent school. is there a major difference between the two if I want a quick career transition?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-07-2011, 12:36 PM

6,196 posts, read 6,223,745 times