Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 01:27 PM

5 posts, read 32,813 times

Advertisements

I am currently a psych undergrad and am looking into graduate schools. What I want to do is work in a mental health clinic and counsel children and teenagers who are being abused or who have severe emotional problems.

1. Which graduate degree would be best for me to be able to do this, and also allow me flexibility?

2. Which would I be able to make the most money living in NYC? I will also be multilingual, speaking 4 languages by the time I"m done with grad school.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-02-2012, 01:41 PM

18,836 posts, read 37,347,105 times
Well, if you want to do counseling, and work with abused children I would go for the masters degree in Social Work. That gives you the flexibility to do a lot of things.

A degree in school counseling, is pretty terminal, keeps you nailed to the school system, and they don't do a lot of counseling, priumarily they do scheduling, and transcript review. Minimal counseling.

A degree in school psychology/educational psychology will take longer than the MA in social work, and be more math intensive. With this degree you will be doing primarily testing, and interpreting test results. Very little direct counseling.

Old 01-02-2012, 02:55 PM

2,714 posts, read 4,280,279 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erica1990 View Post