Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-18-2013, 09:27 PM

167 posts, read 379,064 times

Advertisements

I'm a student studying psychology and philosophy at a Public Ivy university. However, my cumulative GPA is horrible due to social issues and just found out I might have ADD (so I will most likely be put on medication that will make me focus more). My freshman year and half of my sophomore year, I literally failed my classes because I did not put any effort and was really lost.

I am very confused and anxious about my future. I planned on going to graduate school for clinical psychology right after I graduate (I will hopefully getting two diplomas and a specialization) but I don't think that's possible because honestly my cumulative GPA so far (it's still rising) is between 2.0 and 3.0 and I'm not sure if it ever will come up to a 3.0 (that's how badly I messed up freshman year). However, my psychology major GPA is above 3.0 and my philosophy major GPA is close to 3.0. Also I have no time to take the GRE in 2013 so there's no way I can apply for graduate school that starts in Fall 2014.

What do you all suggest I do? Take a few years after graduating to work and gain more experience? If I do that, I plan on studying for the GRE and eventually taking it while working.

Is there any possible way I can get into graduate school or am I out of luck?

Thanks all in advance. Thanks for reading as well; I know it was long.