Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-15-2013, 04:43 PM

1,115 posts, read 2,498,243 times

Advertisements

Quick background. I went to a tech school for audio engineering. I absolutely loved it. Small classes, intense and fast paced schedule, all hands on learning, mandatory internship. I've been working for 3 1/2 years as an audio professional now, but it hasn't been pretty. I've been unable to find full-time work, and have mostly worked full-time contracts or done small freelancing in between the big jobs. As I get older and want to start a family and settle down more, the instability of my profession stresses me out TERRIBLY. It's just far too niche of a field.

So I've decided I want to make a change. I really don't want to go back to school, but it's most likely necessary to make a jump to a more available and steady career. What I'm wondering is if an Associate's degree is enough to get jobs and have a good career quickly, or if you just pretty much need a Bachelor's degree to even stand out in today's job market.

Any thoughts? As much fun as it's been working in a field I'm very passionate about, I realize more I just want a career I can rely on and have it be steady for me. I still want a good job, something with lots of growth and opportunity, so it's time to make a change.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-15-2013, 06:49 PM

22,591 posts, read 47,670,343 times
Associate might work for some things, but won't for others.