U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-15-2013, 12:38 AM

3,620 posts, read 3,611,311 times

Advertisements

i went but never graduated and since i never knew what i wanted to do i ended up with a low gpa, around 2.6-2.7, suspended for not completing a sufficient percent of classwork, etc.

what are the pros/cons to starting over and pretending im a new freshman?

can i even do that?

thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-15-2013, 06:10 AM

40,614 posts, read 32,939,151 times
Sure. Start at a new school, don't try to transfer any credits (you might not have any that are transferable).

Old 11-15-2013, 06:21 AM

37,414 posts, read 49,999,859 times
Can definitely be done. My best friend from college suffered clinical depression, and as a result, ended up tanking in the vast majority of his classes, taking incompletes in even the ones where he was doing well, because he just stopped going to class at various points. He was on academic probation numerous times and finally had to withdraw. Once he got his mental health attended to, he re-enrolled at another college (had been on academic probation so much at our school that it was no longer an option nor desire).