Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-26-2008, 10:50 AM

392 posts, read 1,858,375 times

Advertisements

I decided to take a couple of classes at the junior college near me this semester. I earned my degree a long time ago, just felt like learning some more.
In my class yesterday only 10 of the 20 registered students showed up. OK, fine with me, come to class or don't. I am there to learn so a smaller student teacher ratio is fine in my book.
My problem is the instructor's take on this. First we sit around for 15 minutes to see who is going to show up. Most people that are going to show up come in by the assigned class time, but there are always the stragglers. I jokingly said I was going to start coming in late since class doesn't start on time. The instructor asked me not to since "we have enough of those." I am taking time off my job for this. I am really not interested in wasting time staring at the wall waiting for people that drag themselves in "whenever."
Obviously with the above attendance rate there are those who are also racking up the absences in class. The instructor indicated that he was going to start calling people and threatening to drop their grades if they don't start showing up. WHAT?? You call people and tell them to come to class in college?
Am I just completely out of touch here? Is my attitude ridiculously harsh? Is this how college goes these days? Do students expect this sort of treatment?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message