Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 08:48 PM

964 posts, read 3,164,315 times

Advertisements

I was reading a topic where someone said there was a major in the subject and then there was the CPA. I am majoring in Accounting, but at first I was unsure if I was going to do the CPA until a few people encouraged me to do so. Plus, more money in my pocket.

But are the programs separate?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-22-2009, 11:34 PM

16,410 posts, read 30,368,343 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croye22 View Post
I was reading a topic where someone said there was a major in the subject and then there was the CPA. I am majoring in Accounting, but at first I was unsure if I was going to do the CPA until a few people encouraged me to do so. Plus, more money in my pocket.

Generally, you major in accounting and/or finance and then sit for the exam. Do realize that most states require 150 hours of college credit with a specific number of accounting credits. Make sure that you understand what credits are required in your state,

Old 09-22-2009, 11:38 PM

61,286 posts, read 87,577,766 times
for you to ask that question, its sounds you are in the beginning of your major. b4 you acquire a no refund 100,000 dollar student loan sit for the CPA, its a sobering experience.
been there done that.

Old 09-23-2009, 02:03 AM

16,410 posts, read 30,368,343 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huckleberry3911948 View Post