Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-10-2009, 02:28 PM

610 posts, read 3,008,996 times

Advertisements

I got a degree in liberal arts and I was thinking about going back to school to get another degree in Construction Management. Do you think I should do this or should I just try to find a job? I know the construction industry is not the place to be right now, but what about a few years from now? Also, construction is booming right now in places around the world such as Dubai.

By the way: I would be using the GI Bill to go back to school to pay for my degree. I would not take out any loans or get myself into debt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-11-2009, 02:49 AM
Rei

494 posts, read 1,757,445 times
What type of construction field are you interested in? Architectural, transportation, water or environmental or what?

I would recommend you going back for a degree in civil engineering with emphasis in environmental OR water resources. It is a basic necessity and in many places in this world, water is scarce resources especially in Saudi (if you're interested in going there). In some places (eg Singapore) EnvE are needed to process pee into drinkable water.
The stuff you learn in civil engineering/water resources will provide you enough background should you want to do CM in the future.

Old 10-11-2009, 02:55 PM

1,250 posts, read 4,766,351 times
Just to let you know, construction is NOT booming in Dubai.