Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education > Colleges and Universities
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-05-2010, 12:02 PM

329 posts, read 1,047,202 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I'm going to apply for an MBA program within the next year and wanted to hear some of your thoughts. I graduated a top liberal arts school (Amherst) but my grades were average, just above a 3.0 actually. I'm going to be realistic and apply for programs I CAN get into instead of shooting for the top. Once at grad school, I plan to work in order to pay my way because I'm doing this partially to get away from home and start my own life.

Now some have recommended to me that unless I get into a top MBA program, it's really not worth the financial investment. Whereas, I was always raised to believe that it's not WHAT SCHOOL you went to that matters so much as what you did with your time there to maximize your investment. I'm about to invest a lot of time and money over the next several years and incur some debt, so I thought I'd at least ask: is it really worth the investment if I go to a school that isn't ranked in the top 20 or even 30 programs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-05-2010, 02:07 PM
hsw

2,144 posts, read 7,160,563 times
Any MBA (even from alleged Top 3 schools) has been fairly irrelevant to high-powered, selective employers for past ~15yrs