Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Colorado Springs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-24-2013, 08:29 PM

6,926 posts, read 6,888,435 times

Advertisements

I grew up in the Springs during the 50's and 60's - no Jurassic Park jokes, please. Then I graduated from Colorado Springs High and began my ramblin' ways - up to Denver, then to Boulder. Then the Springs again before hitting the road to New Mexico. I loved the freedom of western highways, but I always came back to my home town, and neighboring Manitou became my base of operations. I would be in Manitou still except that Ft Lewis College in Durango offered me a job. As soon as I hit the Four Corners Region, I fell madly in love with the area. Colorado Springs and Manitou were in my bones, however and I continued to go back and forth over Wolf Creek Pass every few years.

Finally in the summer of 2006, I returned out here, determined to stay in the Four Corners until the end of time. I haven't been back to the Front Range since. A friend has persuaded me to join him on a trip to the Springs on June 13th. I imagine all sorts of things have changed in 7 years - especially with last year's fires and all.