U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Columbus
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-20-2011, 04:58 PM

1 posts, read 1,610 times

Advertisements

I am an elementary school teacher relocating to Columbus, OH from Columbus, GA. How promising is the job market for teachers?
I am reading mixed reviews about finding a job. I have two years experience and will be starting grad school @ OSU this fall part time but am actively looking for a full time position.
I would be fine with subbing for a year if that is what it takes to get my foot in the door (which is the case here typically) if I could work 5 days a week.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-20-2011, 06:56 PM

133 posts, read 567,987 times
Hello-

I can only describe the teacher market here with one word: BAD. Districts are laying off teachers left and right due to budget cuts. And now with SB5 passing, we don't know what will happen. I have friends with experience and a Master's degree who can't find jobs. I know people that worked one year and lost their job. My husband employs teachers who got laid off or can't find work....it goes on and on and it's really sad! I'm actually in grad school working on my teaching certification, and when I met with my academic advisor last summer, she looked me right in the eye and told me if I planned on staying in Ohio that I'm wasting my time and money. But I have always dreamed of becoming a teacher, soooo...I'm going to finish school and then my husband and I will move wherever I can find a job. All we can do is pray that things get better.