Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Columbus
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2014, 07:24 PM

22 posts, read 36,064 times

Advertisements

My boyfriend and I plan to move to Columbus within the next few months. We have to save some money first. We'd like to save at least $1500 as a cushion. I do have family to reside with in Carroll, OH until we can find our own place. I'm a recent college graduate. I don't expect my salary to be anything above 22,000 a year. I was wondering what are the best locations around Columbus to live which are safe. We'd rent a house or an apartment between $500-$700. I know that doesn't give much of a leverage but I know that is what I'll be able to afford. We'd like to live in an area that isn't surrounded by traffic but we know that in Columbus it's not likely we will be able to completely avoid it. Any advice would be sincerely appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2014, 10:35 PM

24 posts, read 36,088 times
You're right in that traffic is hard to avoid in Columbus, it's a very car oriented city. I'd recommend the Hilliard area, you can usually find a decent 1-2 BR apartment for around $600. It's a safe area, and there's a lot of places around.

Old 01-26-2014, 12:45 PM

392 posts, read 1,068,459 times
I have to be honest with the OP. You and your significant other are probably better off looking into Greater Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky other than Columbus. Cincinnati's job market is doing pretty good, and there is a lot to see and do in that area.