U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-14-2011, 09:42 AM
 
Location: Home!
9,306 posts, read 11,246,032 times
Reputation: 9210

Advertisements

Hi!

Any ideas or thoughts as to why I have to reset my wireless router everyday? At least once, if not more. It will just lose the connection. I have never had this issue in the past. I have a Lynksys Router. It is about 6 months old. I just don't get it and it can be so annoying. I have to go unplug it and the restart everything.

Thanks for any ideas!!!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-14-2011, 09:50 AM
 
Location: Las Flores, Orange County, CA
26,342 posts, read 88,908,975 times
Reputation: 17697
I don't know but there's a great site to download higher performance firmware for your router (most routers).

www.dd-wrt.com | Unleash Your Router
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2011, 10:50 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
14,284 posts, read 16,353,878 times
Reputation: 10618
Anything else change recently? newer computers maybe?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2011, 10:51 AM
 
Location: Home!
9,306 posts, read 11,246,032 times
Reputation: 9210
I actually purchased the computer and the wireless router at the same time. October, I believe. I have 2 laptops. So they were set up all at the same time.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2011, 09:13 PM
 
15,921 posts, read 18,963,089 times
Reputation: 7669
You have any new neighbors? Did you recently buy a Wii? Any new appliances in the house?

Have you tried reseating the cable from the modem to the router? From the wall to the modem?

You could try changing the wireless channel...

If you do a Google search you'll find numerous posts on your exact problem, search "wireless router needs to be reset daily"
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2011, 11:13 PM
 
11,715 posts, read 38,320,360 times
Reputation: 7552
I would also be curious to know who the ISP is and whether or not PPPoE is being done on the Linksys. If it is, that could be the problem.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2011, 11:36 PM
 
Location: Home!
9,306 posts, read 11,246,032 times
Reputation: 9210
Quote:
Originally Posted by plwhit View Post
You have any new neighbors? Did you recently buy a Wii? Any new appliances in the house?

Have you tried reseating the cable from the modem to the router? From the wall to the modem?

You could try changing the wireless channel...

If you do a Google search you'll find numerous posts on your exact problem, search "wireless router needs to be reset daily"

No to all your questions. Thanks though! I will try the google search!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-14-2011, 11:38 PM
 
Location: Home!
9,306 posts, read 11,246,032 times
Reputation: 9210
Quote:
Originally Posted by EscapeCalifornia View Post
I would also be curious to know who the ISP is and whether or not PPPoE is being done on the Linksys. If it is, that could be the problem.

ISP is WOWWAY cable. I do not know what PPPoE is. Sorry, low-tech here.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-15-2011, 12:05 AM
 
11,715 posts, read 38,320,360 times
Reputation: 7552
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimba01 View Post
ISP is WOWWAY cable. I do not know what PPPoE is. Sorry, low-tech here.
I've never heard of them but I've never known a cable company to use PPPoE so that wouldn't be a factor then.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-15-2011, 06:54 AM
 
10,844 posts, read 19,994,573 times
Reputation: 10422
It's not unlikely that you got a bad router, only way to test this theory is to swap it out, buy a new one from a place that allows returns on open items, I recommend the Netgear WNR3500L. If the problem goes away you have your answer.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:08 AM.

© 2005-2022, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top