U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 08-02-2011, 11:33 PM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,720 posts, read 5,233,112 times
Reputation: 1473

Advertisements

Is there a way to set up Notepad to where it can recover if it unsuspectingly closes? I am thinking of something similar to what Microsoft Word does. Thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-03-2011, 08:37 PM
 
Location: 96825
5,199 posts, read 6,191,431 times
Reputation: 4914
You might look into "Notepad ++", it has some kind of an auto-save function.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-03-2011, 11:37 PM
 
26,154 posts, read 17,565,036 times
Reputation: 17241
Wouldnt that be CPU intensive though?? (It would have to continually monitor what you have in Notepad and resave it everytime something new was added or removed)

Would be useful though!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-03-2011, 11:44 PM
 
24,497 posts, read 38,484,422 times
Reputation: 12883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Wouldnt that be CPU intensive though?? (It would have to continually monitor what you have in Notepad and resave it everytime something new was added or removed)

Would be useful though!
No. It's not CPU intensive at all. Office applications already do it. So do Google Docs and the alike.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2011, 07:30 AM
 
28,736 posts, read 43,777,419 times
Reputation: 37724
Auto-save is normally set to save every "x" number of minutes.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2011, 09:51 AM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,720 posts, read 5,233,112 times
Reputation: 1473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Auto-save is normally set to save every "x" number of minutes.
For Notepads?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2011, 10:59 AM
 
Location: 96825
5,199 posts, read 6,191,431 times
Reputation: 4914
I'm wondering now why on earth your notepad might unsuspectingly (unexpectedly?) close, something must be really broken. Is it doing that?

Last edited by Tantalust; 08-04-2011 at 11:07 AM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2011, 06:03 PM
 
28,736 posts, read 43,777,419 times
Reputation: 37724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tantalust View Post
You might look into "Notepad ++", it has some kind of an auto-save function.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dude111 View Post
Wouldnt that be CPU intensive though?? (It would have to continually monitor what you have in Notepad and resave it everytime something new was added or removed)

Would be useful though!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
Auto-save is normally set to save every "x" number of minutes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joke Insurance View Post
For Notepads?
My comment was a continuation of previous posts.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2011, 07:52 PM
 
Location: Fairfax County, VA
3,720 posts, read 5,233,112 times
Reputation: 1473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tantalust View Post
I'm wondering now why on earth your notepad might unsuspectingly (unexpectedly?) close, something must be really broken. Is it doing that?
Computer freezes up and you have to restart.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-05-2011, 07:46 AM
 
28,736 posts, read 43,777,419 times
Reputation: 37724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joke Insurance View Post
Computer freezes up and you have to restart.
What OS are you running?
Amount of RAM?
Anti-virus you use?
Hard drive full or close to it?
Any Blue screens at reboot?
Do you use Ccleaner?
Too much junk running at startup?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 PM.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top