U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-14-2013, 07:08 PM

4,883 posts, read 11,557,230 times

Advertisements

So I am a college student close to graduating. I bought a new HP laptop six months ago because I thought I was going to do a lot of gaming, but I have only bought two game and I don't game with friends anymore and I have gotten to the point where I don't game as much and it's not important to me anymore.

I am trying to decide if I should sell my laptop worth $1000 and buy an old MacBook Pro laptop.

I want to still be able to play these games:

Torchlight
Torchlight 2
Half Life
Half Life 2
Portal
Portal 2
Left 4 Dead
Left 4 Dead 2
Bastion
Borderlands
Awesomenauts
The Cave

I am looking at two potential MacBook Pro laptops.

Here are the specs of my current laptop:

• HP DV6T
  • Windows 8 Pro
  • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
  • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 1GB GDDR3 memory [HDMI, VGA]
  • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
  • 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
  • NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
  • Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
  • No additional security software
  • 9 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
  • 15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1600 x 900)
  • Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
  • HP TrueVision HD Webcam
  • 802.11b/g/n WLAN
  • Standard Keyboard
  • Included 2 Year Warranty