U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 11-04-2013, 11:02 AM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,549 posts, read 6,308,296 times
Reputation: 2697

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by moved View Post
With my old computer and XP, I could scan directly with the printer/scanner. When I bought the new computer with Windows 7, the only way to scan was with Windows Fax/Scan. I tried with the Canon software, all it does is take you to a settings page, and any scanning still has to be done with Windows Fax/Scan.
You should be able to scan directly with the scanner. I have 3 scanners hooked up to a Win7 box, (including a Pixma MG 2220), and I can go to the scanner in Windows, right click it, and hit scan. It does use the horrible Camera Wizard to store the picture after scanning, but it can be done without starting Windows Fax/Scan
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 11-04-2013, 11:12 AM
 
28,785 posts, read 45,131,143 times
Reputation: 37842
You might want to be more descriptive about where in Windows you go to the printer.

Is it Devices and Printers?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 11:42 AM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,549 posts, read 6,308,296 times
Reputation: 2697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek_Freek View Post
You might want to be more descriptive about where in Windows you go to the printer.

Is it Devices and Printers?
Sorry, good point.

that machine is powered off, so I didn't actually check ... but it is Devices and printers, . I hit Windows, type print, hit enter ....
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 12:25 PM
 
Location: Talmadge (aka Sh**ty Heights), San Diego, CA
14,958 posts, read 30,355,268 times
Reputation: 9424
I'll try and see if I can get it to scan. I have something extremely important that needs to be scanned, otherwise, I'll have to snail mail the documents.

I looked in my sent emails, and my last scan with the old printer was on 10/23.

It's telling me that I need a WIA driver.

Last edited by moved; 11-04-2013 at 12:35 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 01:18 PM
 
28,785 posts, read 45,131,143 times
Reputation: 37842
Read through this.

How to download wia driver for scanner windows 7 - Drivers ...
Nov 22, 2012

Sorry about the format, but I clicked on the "How to download" link and the text in the url box wasn't a url. Leave it to Tom's Hardware to get weird. Instead I copied the entire Google search section. You might look through the rest as well.

Wia driver windows 7 - Tom's Hardware

Tom's Hardware: Hardware News, Tests and ReviewsForumWindows 7
Aug 11, 2010 - Omnipage 17 of Nuance need for scanning the Twain driver. I'm using Kyocera FS-1118MFP. Windows7 installs the WIA driver.
How to install a wia driver - Drivers - Windows 7
Nov 22, 2012

Epson wia driver windows 7 download
Nov 1, 2012

Wia driver download windows 7 - Drivers - Windows 7
Aug 16, 2012

More results from www.tomshardware.com
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 02:49 PM
 
Location: Talmadge (aka Sh**ty Heights), San Diego, CA
14,958 posts, read 30,355,268 times
Reputation: 9424
Thanks, I'll try and post back.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 04:50 PM
 
Location: Talmadge (aka Sh**ty Heights), San Diego, CA
14,958 posts, read 30,355,268 times
Reputation: 9424
Well, it's now scanning. The scanning feature (and apparently the only way to scan) is through one of the features called, "My Image Garden." I guess the days of easy scanning are over, or this is just a feature of Canon printers.

Compared to my old Deskjet, it's really noisy. Every time it prints, it sounds like it's going to break. A better printer would be nice, but I think I'm stuck with this one.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 04:59 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,549 posts, read 6,308,296 times
Reputation: 2697
Quote:
Originally Posted by moved View Post
Well, it's now scanning. The scanning feature (and apparently the only way to scan) is through one of the features called, "My Image Garden." I guess the days of easy scanning are over, or this is just a feature of Canon printers.

Compared to my old Deskjet, it's really noisy. Every time it prints, it sounds like it's going to break. A better printer would be nice, but I think I'm stuck with this one.
As I said earlier, I can scan from my two month old Cannon Pixma 2220 directly from the printers and scanners area of Windows.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 05:07 PM
 
Location: Talmadge (aka Sh**ty Heights), San Diego, CA
14,958 posts, read 30,355,268 times
Reputation: 9424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skunk Workz View Post
As I said earlier, I can scan from my two month old Cannon Pixma 2220 directly from the printers and scanners area of Windows.
That's where it says that I need a WIA driver. If I could do that, it would be much easier.

Last edited by moved; 11-04-2013 at 05:32 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 11-04-2013, 08:51 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,549 posts, read 6,308,296 times
Reputation: 2697
Quote:
Originally Posted by moved View Post
That's where it says that I need a WIA driver. If I could do that, it would be much easier.
My thought is that if you have it working via the scanning software, it probably now has the WIA driver. Most scanning apps will use WIA, although some will use TWAIN.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:32 AM.

© 2005-2022, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top