Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-02-2018, 10:31 PM

2 posts, read 1,204 times

Advertisements

Today @t approximately 3pm my internet went down. It came back in about 3 minutes, but when it did many web sites were unreachable. My banks, Hulu, WebStorage, and other forum's. Netflix works as does other major sites but can't shake feeling of waking in an 1985 nightmare. This is still going on at 11:30pm. I have been a Systems Analyst for 40 years. Selective Address Failures are just a little to much to believe.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-03-2018, 10:58 AM

2,743 posts, read 4,826,963 times
Other than the tin-foil hat inferences, this problem may be one that can be solved here:

I hate to fall back to the ultimate-dumb suggestion .. but did you try rebooting your router?
It's possible that your ISP or router got their settings for you scrambled from the outage.

Both the ISPs and your router may have the capability to so limited filtering, (IE: so you could set it so your kids cant' connect to forbidden websites). Or,

The Internet address your ISP assigned you may have changed without their equipment recognizing it, and now it's limiting your access, ... or your router had something similar happen internally.

Either way, it cost you nothing but one minute to do a cold-restart (IE: let it sit off for at least 30 seconds).
If that doesn't help, then call your ISPs tech support (NOT customer/billing support, but tech).
Have them do an external reset of your connection.