Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Computers
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-10-2022, 06:59 PM

2,336 posts, read 2,574,918 times

Advertisements

I'm a novice VLC user, and want to convert some home movies that were ripped as .VOB files to .MP4. The goal is to more easily stream them from a network drive to my Roku player.

1. I did a test run and the files were converted, but there's no audio if I play them in Windows Media Player or Movies & TV. The audio is fine playing them with VLC. Am I doing something wrong? Is there a better format than .MP4 for what I want to do?

2. The VLC rips were separated into several 30 minute files rather than one longer file. I want to recombine them back to the original format. Can/should this be done before or after conversion?

3. Am I losing quality by converting them? They were originally on VHS tapes so the quality is pretty mediocre to begin with.

Thanks for any advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-10-2022, 08:46 PM

3,320 posts, read 4,135,138 times