Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-02-2011, 05:10 PM

3 posts, read 4,692 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

I graduated college last year and am looking to move out of my parent's house soon. I know absolutely nothing about renting a place, what to look for, or where to start. I work in Westbrook (currently commuting from Fairfield) and I plan to move in with a friend who works in Glastonbury. We each make about $30,000 a year after taxes.

We don't really know where to start, but think Hamden/North Haven might be nice to live in and we'd each have about the same 40/45-min commute (these towns are also equidistant between our two hometowns, and close to a lot of friends). I've been to Hamden before to visit Sleeping Giant and spent some time in the downtown area - seemed pretty nice from that one visit there. I also like how both towns are very close to the beach, Metro North, and a city (we're both in our early-20s and we like the nightlife).

Does anyone have any insight on living in one of these places (or other towns nearby)? Would we be able to afford towns like this without living in a dump or throwing 90% of our paychecks toward rent? Any help, advice, insight, etc would be really, greatly appreciated. We don't know anyone who lives in this exact area so I'm not sure where else to go for help besides the great and powerful internet. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2011, 06:20 PM

83,500 posts, read 75,234,500 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by exquisite75 View Post
Hi all,