U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-22-2008, 05:02 PM

27 posts, read 37,104 times

Advertisements

I am writing for my daughter who teaches at Yale and no longer wants to live in New Haven.

She has about $250,000 to spend on a condo.

I have never been to Milford but have been told it is nice.

Would appreciate any advice on Milford and where she should look for a condo. Thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-23-2008, 10:39 AM

46 posts, read 171,901 times
I have been a lifelong resident and there really is not a bad part to Milford. It is convenient to Bridgeport and New Haven, and also about 45 minutes to New York. If she is looking for a Condo, the city is split into parts. There is the downtown area, Devon and Woodmont. Woodmont end (closer to West Haven) has been kept up with the times more than Devon and as such, home prices are a small bit higher towards Woodmont.

As far as shopping goes, they recently added a Target, Circuit City, Lowes and Walmart. There is little in shopping Milford does not have.

The city has never been a big area for crime (although car break-ins has been an increasing issue lately).

Plenty of public and private beaches. My wife fell in love with Milford (she is from the New London area) after I took her to a couple of the beaches.

I would love to try to answer direct questions you have on Milford, so feel free to let me know.

The commute to Yale is extremely easy as I did a simular commute going to Southern CT State U for my college years.

Old 03-24-2008, 09:46 AM