U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Connecticut
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 06:28 PM

8,949 posts, read 10,859,688 times

Advertisements

Ok, time to stir it up. In my continuing research to find a new home in Connecticut, I am now looking at Torrington. Just as some background-- I grew up in Fairfield County and left for college. Now at age 35 I am coming back in November and have a number of criteria:

1) Someplace where they have affordable rentals-- I don't want to spend a lot on housing. I am a corporate technical trainer and am home less than one week a year, however, when I am home I want to enjoy it.

2) I want low rent-- Want to sock lots of money away and eventually purchase.

3) I want somewhat convenient access to visit my brother in Enfield, some what reasonable access to the airports, and I want a more suburban rather than rural or urban environment.

4) High speed internet access and cable must be readily available. (This may be a forgone conclusion in CT, but not in Texas, where I am moving from).

5) I'd like a somewhat diverse community that has a few places to eat and has the kind of places where they get to know you after a while. No pretension. I'm not looking to move back to Fairfield County.

So what are the merits of Torrington? It seems to get trashed on this forum, but what doesn't. What is the reason to live in Torrington? What's the reason not to?