U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-13-2021, 07:42 PM
 
185 posts, read 366,879 times
Reputation: 123

Advertisements

Stay away from Netgear. Their current level of support is disgusting and down right nasty.

They give you free "basic technical" support for 90 days after purchase. After that you have to pay for a technical support contract, ($50 for 3 months) to get help if there's an issue.

I cannot get them to replace a defective modem that is under warranty, and past the 90 days. That is unless I sign up for a technical support contract, THEN they'll have an expert assist me with "advance technical support". They literally told me they can fix my issue after I sign up and pay them more money. This was not miscommunication, as I've tried twice to RMA / return a defective unit.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-17-2021, 03:03 PM
 
Location: 5,400 feet
3,577 posts, read 3,178,544 times
Reputation: 5214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peregrine View Post
Yes, they still make an interface for the browser. They all do.
The mesh systems like eero and Google require use of their app on a cell phone to set up and replace a stand alone router. They can be linked to a router without the app, and used, but my objective was to replace my existing router and our cell signal is spotty at best.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-18-2021, 09:11 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
13,016 posts, read 15,122,402 times
Reputation: 9124
But we're talking about routers, not mesh systems.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-23-2021, 09:50 PM
 
Location: Not far from Fairbanks, AK
17,470 posts, read 31,191,171 times
Reputation: 13600
I have a Netgear 7960P and it works quite well, except that no matter what I try I can't update the firmware. I follow the step-by-step instructions to login to the router, and then see if it shows a firmware update, and it does. The next step is to upgrade the firmware by answering YES first, and then the router tries to connect and download some sort of "language tables" or something like that. The router tries and tries, but is unable to download the GUI (something like that), and a few seconds later returns to the previous window.

Since the router is fairly new, but past the warranty. I am thinking about resetting it to factory specs and setup the network once more, then try to upgrade the firmware. I have never had this type of trouble with LinkSys routers.

Maybe I should listen to Even Further and his comment about staying away from Netgear. This router is getting in my nerves already.
-------------
re-edited: Just participated about the router above in the NetGear community forum, ad realized that a great number of people have been complaining about the problem with this router for quite a long time. So, that's it for me and NetGear routers. I will never purchase another. Switching to LinkSys or another router, and tossing the NetGear one in the trashcan. I am so pissed for wasting my money on this router!

Last edited by RayinAK; 01-23-2021 at 10:32 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-24-2021, 03:14 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
4,927 posts, read 3,420,449 times
Reputation: 5835
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayinAK View Post
I have a Netgear 7960P and it works quite well, except that no matter what I try I can't update the firmware. I follow the step-by-step instructions to login to the router, and then see if it shows a firmware update, and it does. The next step is to upgrade the firmware by answering YES first, and then the router tries to connect and download some sort of "language tables" or something like that. The router tries and tries, but is unable to download the GUI (something like that), and a few seconds later returns to the previous window.

Since the router is fairly new, but past the warranty. I am thinking about resetting it to factory specs and setup the network once more, then try to upgrade the firmware. I have never had this type of trouble with LinkSys routers.

Maybe I should listen to Even Further and his comment about staying away from Netgear. This router is getting in my nerves already.
-------------
re-edited: Just participated about the router above in the NetGear community forum, ad realized that a great number of people have been complaining about the problem with this router for quite a long time. So, that's it for me and NetGear routers. I will never purchase another. Switching to LinkSys or another router, and tossing the NetGear one in the trashcan. I am so pissed for wasting my money on this router!
I have a Netgear that had some security issues. The solution was to upgrade firmware but I was never able to find it online. I have the R6300 v2. I just checked again and it seems there is an upgrade on their website. I will attempt it sometime soon.

Why don't you try to upgrade your firmware by manually downloading and installing. I was able to find this page. It looks like 1.4.1.68 is the latest and that's directly from them. It's very straight forward. You download the file and load it from the web interface.
https://www.netgear.com/support/prod...ion%201.4.1.68

Edit: I just upgraded automatically with no problems from the web interface. It took maybe two minutes.

Last edited by gguerra; 01-24-2021 at 04:25 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-24-2021, 09:48 PM
 
Location: Not far from Fairbanks, AK
17,470 posts, read 31,191,171 times
Reputation: 13600
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
I have a Netgear that had some security issues. The solution was to upgrade firmware but I was never able to find it online. I have the R6300 v2. I just checked again and it seems there is an upgrade on their website. I will attempt it sometime soon.

Why don't you try to upgrade your firmware by manually downloading and installing. I was able to find this page. It looks like 1.4.1.68 is the latest and that's directly from them. It's very straight forward. You download the file and load it from the web interface.
https://www.netgear.com/support/prod...ion%201.4.1.68

Edit: I just upgraded automatically with no problems from the web interface. It took maybe two minutes.
I tried both ways, and while the GUI updated, the firmware would not. If you go to the NetGear website, you will notice several pages of users having exactly the same problems I am having upgrading the firmware. These routers were being sold at CostCo about a year ago for around $140.00, if I well remember. A lot of CostCo customers returned the routers for the same reasons as mine. The firmware is available at NetGear, but the router won't download and install it.

I ordered an Asus RT-AX3000 which should be at my door step by the end of this month.-

Final edit to my post Thanks to ggerra I managed to upgrade the firmware of the NetGear router mentioned above. It took me about an hour to upgrade it as follows:

1. Manually upload the file from the hard drive to the routers one time, let it do its think and then logoff.

2. Login again and the router showed that there was a new firmware available, so I proceeded to let the router update the firmware automatically, and this time the router went through all the steps automatically. After it rebooted again I logged off.

3. Logged back on (a third time). The router still showed that there was a new firmware update available, so I again let the router automatically upgrade the firmware, and finally the right firmware version was displayed at the right upper corner of the window.

My thanks to ggerra, and my apologies to the folks at NetGear for being so mad at them for a couple of days. Also, my apologies to Amazon for having to cancel the order for an Asus router

Last edited by RayinAK; 01-24-2021 at 11:06 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-25-2021, 09:35 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
13,016 posts, read 15,122,402 times
Reputation: 9124
I love my Netgear Nighthawk router.
Please tell me which of these companies DO have great customer service?
Hint: none do. It's a good thing I never need to use them. It's a router with few moving parts. They don't break often. I've had dozens of routers over the years, number of times I've needed tech support from them? 0.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-27-2021, 12:16 AM
Status: "feeling good" (set 25 days ago)
 
Location: HONOLULU
230 posts, read 30,723 times
Reputation: 58
I currently have a NetGear router. My cellphone also uses that line. Wireless. So when I go on the cell phone, it connects to the wireless router, then via telephone line. On the cell phone use. The cell phone is part of the wireless network. This is good. Internet is wireless. It goes through the wireless, then to the telephone line, of which the wireless is connected to. It is about 1 feet wireless router. Unlimited use. But the bill is on somewhere else. But it is unlimited use.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-27-2021, 01:02 AM
 
95 posts, read 56,369 times
Reputation: 44
Bought a Netgear, but I just returned it. It dropped the connection occasionally and didn't seem like it was going as fast as it should.
I'm thinking Asus or TP Link for the next one.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-28-2021, 08:25 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
13,016 posts, read 15,122,402 times
Reputation: 9124
No Netgear will just randomly drop connections.
Which Netgear? They are not all the same. What dropped the connection, the router, or your device? Did you do any speedtests? How long did you have it?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top