U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 01-30-2021, 09:59 AM
 
Location: Brooklyn
1,363 posts, read 737,271 times
Reputation: 1232

Advertisements

Hey guys, I need help figuring out what equipment I need to buy.

Objective: I need to record radio shows directly from the radio to the computer (the radio station is NOT online).

What equipment or interface do I need to purchase to achieve this?

I plan to use Audacity to record but I don't know if I need a mixer to send the recording to the computer. DO I need to purchase specific cords or plugs?

Please help and provide recommendations. Thanks in advance.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 01-30-2021, 12:59 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
4,927 posts, read 3,418,578 times
Reputation: 5835
Audacity will work just fine. You will need a radio with some kind of audio out so that you can connect to PC.

Most PCs have a "line in" or at least a mic connection.

Nothing else needed except the correct cable.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-30-2021, 03:38 PM
 
Location: Brooklyn
1,363 posts, read 737,271 times
Reputation: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
Audacity will work just fine. You will need a radio with some kind of audio out so that you can connect to PC.

Most PCs have a "line in" or at least a mic connection.

Nothing else needed except the correct cable.
A regular line-in connection didn't work well. Do you know any other solution? Do you think I need an audio iinterface?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2021, 04:54 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
4,927 posts, read 3,418,578 times
Reputation: 5835
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullandre View Post
A regular line-in connection didn't work well. Do you know any other solution? Do you think I need an audio iinterface?
As I mentioned, you need a radio that has audio outputs of some sort.

What was the problem with the line-in connection?

It may be that you need to adjust the input levels. You can do that from sound settings in windows.

There are many ways to do this including getting some kind of capture device.

If you give me specifics, I will be able to better help you.

What kind of radio, computer and cable are you using?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2021, 05:01 PM
 
Location: Brooklyn
1,363 posts, read 737,271 times
Reputation: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
As I mentioned, you need a radio that has audio outputs of some sort.

What was the problem with the line-in connection?

It may be that you need to adjust the input levels. You can do that from sound settings in windows.

There are many ways to do this including getting some kind of capture device.

If you give me specifics, I will be able to better help you.

What kind of radio, computer and cable are you using?
I have a radio with one AUX input and used a 3.5mm AUX Audio Cable to connect it to the computer. I've tried connecting it to my Mac and windows computer with the same results. I have also adjusted the input levels but I am just getting distortion.

At this point, I would prefer to spend money on an audio interface or something else that can capture the recording.

Please tell me what you recommend.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2021, 05:06 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
4,927 posts, read 3,418,578 times
Reputation: 5835
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullandre View Post
I have a radio with one AUX input and used a 3.5mm AUX Audio Cable to connect it to the computer. I've tried connecting it to my Mac and windows computer with the same results. I have also adjusted the input levels but I am just getting distortion.

At this point, I would prefer to spend money on an audio interface or something else that can capture the recording.

Please tell me what you recommend.
You mean radio with aux OUTPUT, correct?

Line-in connections on the computer are low-level.

I assume a standard 3.5mm cable.

We'll take it in steps.
What is the brand and model of the radio?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2021, 05:12 PM
 
Location: Brooklyn
1,363 posts, read 737,271 times
Reputation: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
You mean radio with aux OUTPUT, correct?

Line-in connections on the computer are low-level.

I assume a standard 3.5mm cable.

We'll take it in steps.
What is the brand and model of the radio?
Yes, it's AUX output and it's the standard 3.5mm cable. The radio I'm using is an LG Electronics CM4360 230W Hi-Fi Entertainment System.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2021, 05:45 PM
 
Location: McAllen, TX
4,927 posts, read 3,418,578 times
Reputation: 5835
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullandre View Post
Yes, it's AUX output and it's the standard 3.5mm cable. The radio I'm using is an LG Electronics CM4360 230W Hi-Fi Entertainment System.
Looked up your LG. Only thing that is listed in the specs as well as the manual is aux INPUT. That obviously is not what you need. You need an OUTPUT and the only one listed is the speaker outputs.

That may be your problem. I am surprised you got anything sound at all?

Product page is here, does link to the specs
https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-CM4360.AUSALLK

Page 12 of the manual, shows your connections.
https://gscs-b2c.lge.com/downloadFil...qICsGwE83WvrNg


Since your only output are the speakers, you will have to convert to low level before you can connect to PC.

This will do it.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R1JWTC0

Plus you need the RCA to 3.5mm
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071R4R5B8/

You will have to splice the speaker wire, one set going to your speakers, the other going to the adapter.

It's not the ideal setup. If you had a headphone connection on your LG, that would be the way. I did not see one online.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-31-2021, 05:47 PM
 
Location: Brooklyn
1,363 posts, read 737,271 times
Reputation: 1232
Quote:
Originally Posted by gguerra View Post
Looked up your LG. Only thing that is listed in the specs as well as the manual is aux INPUT. That obviously is not what you need. You need an OUTPUT and the only one listed is the speaker outputs.

That may be your problem. I am surprised you got anything sound at all?

Product page is here, does link to the specs
https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-CM4360.AUSALLK

Page 12 of the manual, shows your connections.
https://gscs-b2c.lge.com/downloadFil...qICsGwE83WvrNg


Since your only output are the speakers, you will have to convert to low level before you can connect to PC.

This will do it.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00R1JWTC0

Plus you need the RCA to 3.5mm
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071R4R5B8/

You will have to splice the speaker wire, one set going to your speakers, the other going to the adapter.

It's not the ideal setup. If you had a headphone connection on your LG, that would be the way. I did not see one online.
Thanks for the solution. Would buying an audio interface or mixer be easier?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-01-2021, 08:52 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
13,016 posts, read 15,119,575 times
Reputation: 9124
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullandre View Post
Thanks for the solution. Would buying an audio interface or mixer be easier?
No. Do what he said. That is far easier then screwing around with an actual mixer.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Consumer Electronics

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top