U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Corpus Christi
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-13-2009, 11:40 PM

82 posts, read 200,321 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are thinking about moving to the Corpus area. If so, we will be moving with a job (near 286 & I-37), so looking for employment isn't a problem. I am leaning toward the Portland area, or something similar, but don't want to spend more than 250K. I am a national artist and would like to be surrounded with nice scenery in a safe area, hopefully with room for a separate studio. I am wondering if the best route is to rent for a year before purchasing, to get used to the area. However, I hate the idea of moving twice in a year and would prefer to avoid it if at all possible.

We have no children at home any longer, so school districts aren't an issue. However, we did go through several hurricanes along the Gulf Coast over the last four years and I'm not totally thrilled with moving to a coastal city again, but it is a good career move for my husband. I loved living near the gulf, but taking the risk of my entire body of work getting wiped out in a storm surge is a bit freaky for me.

I am hoping people can suggest neighborhoods or areas surrounding Corpus proper that I can begin to investigate, hopefully near water or public parks. I do love birding, so that is a plus. Is there any theater in the area? Diverse restaurants? Galleries? I know nothing about Corpus metro area. Also, what are evacuations like? I've been stuck in enough of them to appreciate good evacuation plans.