U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-07-2015, 03:32 PM
 
864 posts, read 875,804 times
Reputation: 219

Advertisements

Been going on for past few days. My trane thermostat display is blank. No battery involved. Tried resetting the breaker, exterior fuse ( I believe) next to the unit. Sometimes after trying these steps, the display comes back. Again goes blank the next day. Last nite, same scenario. Tried the same steps w/o any luck. Finally I gave up. Turned out the A/C kicked in at the set temp. but no thermostat display so I can't control it. Seems like problem with the thermostat unit itself? Do I need a new display unit? or no power feeding the display? It's 24v AC I believe.
Please advice. I am not sure I want to spent $150 on an Electrician if it's a minor issue.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-07-2015, 04:09 PM
 
1,009 posts, read 911,252 times
Reputation: 1361
The thermostats that I am familiar with that have a display also have a battery, they don't run off the furnace. Why do you say there is no battery involved?

If the thermostat is "rated for 24V" I believe this means it can safely handle signals that are 24V on the wiring to the furnace. It doesn't necessarily run off that 24V.

I'm sure there are people with more technical info here as well...
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2015, 04:11 PM
 
864 posts, read 875,804 times
Reputation: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by cordata View Post
The thermostats that I am familiar with that have a display also have a battery, they don't run off the furnace. Why do you say there is no battery involved?

If the thermostat is "rated for 24V" I believe this means it can safely handle signals that are 24V on the wiring to the furnace. It doesn't necessarily run off that 24V.

I'm sure there are people with more technical info here as well...
I did remove the front piece and didn't find any battery slot.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-07-2015, 04:18 PM
 
1,009 posts, read 911,252 times
Reputation: 1361
Keep looking for the battery. Use google to find owner's manual.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
>
Powered by Foreclosure.com
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Settings
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2020 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2022, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top