U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 04-15-2008, 10:35 AM
 
Location: DFW, TX
2,935 posts, read 6,314,351 times
Reputation: 571

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by lh_newbie View Post
You are correct about cat5. In fact, I had all my phone lines tied together in a 2-gang box in this same closet. Since telephones take 2 wires and ethernet takes 4 wires, I just installed a new cover and terminated some of the phone lines as a split phone + ethernet without having to "pay" for a dedicated run. Of course, I'm a network guy so that isn't a big deal. I used one ethernet drop and that was it - just the one for my main computer. Now, I don't even use that since I only own a laptop...
You're a network guy with just one laptop? Tsk tsk tsk! Hopefully you leave it running 24/7 with VMWare so you can run multiple servers for home... otherwise how do you run your home automation system, ip pbx, and file servers?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-15-2008, 10:44 AM
 
Location: DFW, TX
2,935 posts, read 6,314,351 times
Reputation: 571
Quote:
Originally Posted by unexpected View Post
if you want to go ahead and wire, I'd wire with Cat 6. The difference between Cat 5, Cat 5e, and Cat 6 is speed. Cat 5 is the slowest, and Cat 6 is the fastest.
Just a nitpick, but the category of the cable doesn't define the speed at which the network operates, it is a rating for an allowable noise level up to a specified bandwidth. For Cat5 and Cat5e the minimum requirements are 100 MHz bandwidth testing for the specified cross-talk stats versus 250 MHz for Cat6. The big pain with Cat6 is most cables have a spline between the pairs and are more difficult to terminate, making it more expensive for a homeowner. Right now you can do gigabit ethernet over Cat5e as well as Cat6, but it does look like 10 gig ethernet will only be over Cat6.

If you're really looking to future proof your setup, conduit is the only way to go.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-15-2008, 10:50 AM
 
Location: Lake Highlands (Dallas)
2,395 posts, read 8,028,813 times
Reputation: 1036
Quote:
Originally Posted by twojciac View Post
You're a network guy with just one laptop? Tsk tsk tsk! Hopefully you leave it running 24/7 with VMWare so you can run multiple servers for home... otherwise how do you run your home automation system, ip pbx, and file servers?
LOL! Yeah, been there, done that. I like simplicity. I do have a network attached storage box, and I have a small leviton smarthome controller to turn my porch lights on and off, but gave up on all the fancy shmancy stuff that sucks your time, increases your electric bills and frustrates the heck out of the wife when things don't work perfectly together. Incidentally, I love the NAS because the hard drives spin down after 5 minutes of inactivity and it's running RAID 1 (mirroring) so i have good data integrity. Have I earned some geek cred back a little? LOL!

At this point, instead of dropping all the money into automation and toys, we dump every penny I can into retirement so we can retire early.

Brian
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-15-2008, 02:10 PM
 
16 posts, read 79,108 times
Reputation: 23
Such great advice. Thanks All!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-15-2008, 09:53 PM
 
Location: Roanoke, TX
57 posts, read 199,683 times
Reputation: 21
We're currently building too, and I'm going the pre-wired route: LAN/WAN to the Study, Computer desk, Family Room, and Game Room for the reasons outlined above as our community is FiberToThePremises. I'm leaning strongly towards AT&T UVerse, for now, but I think in the not so distant future more content could come via Internet delivery. Someone posted about limitations to UVerse regarding 1 HD feed. I'll have to research that further, as the offer I saw online said up to 3 HD capable boxes for no additional fee, one of them including a DVR & there was a crytic reference to being able to network them to take advantage of multi-tuners to record more than one program at the same time, but it was the only thing said on their site about this topic (VERY week info about hardware & capabilities, but there seems to be a store in the DFW area where you can test drive the product which I will do when I'm in town next).

Regarding the Sound, the builder includes one room at 7.1 sound & we're doing that in the Media Room (future trim out), but for like $200 they're also doing it in our Family Room for more immediate enjoyment. Traditional stereo wiring for the MBR, covered patio, and game room; all of which come with pre-wiring for zoned volume controls as well. I'm really psyched, but will have to buy more speakers

Can't wait, just had Blue Print review today...

Oh, I totally recommend wired network, supplemented by wireless router (DON'T FORGET TO SECURE IT, hardly anyone ever does).
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-15-2008, 10:27 PM
 
Location: Dallas, TX
918 posts, read 2,661,410 times
Reputation: 291
Please post what you find out about Uverse. Thanks.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-16-2008, 12:47 PM
 
Location: Roanoke, TX
57 posts, read 199,683 times
Reputation: 21
Next time I come to Dallas (or one of the times this summer) it's DEFINATELY on my agenda to get to their store. I forget where it is, but it will make it to my list of "to do" things to Google it prior to the trip.

I'll post what I find in a separate thread or this one if it's still going.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Settings
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2020 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
Similar Threads
View detailed profiles of:

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top