Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-07-2009, 07:47 AM

54 posts, read 187,764 times

Advertisements

Hi! We're considering a relocation to Dallas; my husband would be working near Children's Medical Center in Dallas a couple days/week, and in Plano the rest of the time. We are young empty-nesters and relatively hip (for being almost 50 years old!) and wouldn't be real excited about a neighborhood with young families. As an interior designer, my home is very important to me.
I'm open to many options-- I would love to live in the city in a trendy neighborhood that is very walkable-- maybe in a townhouse? It looks like there's an uptown area, but we don't want to be the oldest people on the block! We also don't want a "fringy" area, safety-wise. Our housing budget is about $600,000.
Would also consider a single-family home or townhouse outside the city, again in a neighborhood with more "mature" people (not the nursing home set, though!) Have seen Turtle Creek mentioned, but is that all older homes? And how far would it be from Plano?
Have always wanted to live "on the water", but it appears the lakes in the area are too far for the commute. Really don't want the commute to be over 30 mins. Thank you so much for any help and advice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-07-2009, 05:13 PM

4,630 posts, read 10,472,169 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joannewebx View Post