U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 04:39 AM

4 posts, read 21,587 times

Advertisements

I'm 32 SWM, currently living outside of Chicago in Naperville. I've been working in technical sales for about 8 years and recently got my alternative certification for teaching in Texas. I unfortunately didn't secure a job prior to the school year and am now looking at just relocating and working as a sub and hoping to find a perm. sub job that could lead to a full time gig. Worst case scenario, I'm going to fall back on my sales experience and try to find a job there that pays till next summer rolls around and I can work on teaching again.

I was originally looking at Dallas, but then read a lot about Austin and San Antonio. I know Dallas schools are paying around 40+ to start now and was curious about Austin and SA.

Pertinent information: I'd like to find a place that has a decent nightlife. Being single, I still enjoy going out once or twice a week. Also, I'm not bilingual and while I know this is a hindrance in teaching, I want to go where there is the best chance of that not being an issue. Lastly, if I have to fall back on sales (technical outside sales) where would I have the best opportunity at finding a good job?

Thanks for the help!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-29-2009, 08:52 AM

6,578 posts, read 24,292,278 times
What do you teach?

Old 08-29-2009, 09:02 AM

34,112 posts, read 54,106,808 times