U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Dallas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 12:17 PM

9 posts, read 26,778 times

Advertisements

I am looking for advice from someone who knows if there is any jobs that I can get with a Bachelors in Art History other than museums? I have been working as a Cashier in a big box store for past eight years and want to make that step to change employment to something that is within my schooling choice but don't have the required experience needed for most Art Historian jobs. Thanks, any help or advice would be useful!

KH
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-23-2010, 05:22 PM

36,550 posts, read 56,109,625 times
brutal but frankly this is nothing I can think of in your field since it is basically an entry level degree they make you go through before you get an MFA or PhD--
if you want to teach or work in any type of museum with a rep you have to have at least an MFA from a ranked college and probably a PhD and some influencial contacts...

a daughter of someone my husband works with got her degree last year from Vanderbilt and is doing a paid-for MFA program at UT in Austin--UT and couple of other schools courted her with some price scholarship offers...in art history

frankly you might try getting sales commission job at art gallery
become a volunteer or docent at local art museums and hope to work your want into some type of secretary slot