Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-04-2008, 11:25 AM

7 posts, read 18,558 times

Advertisements

Hello, hopefully some of you can help us. We're moving the the Denver area and are looking for the perfect home/neighborhood. My wife has a couple different work at home businesses to run and I'm a tech worker (java programming mainly) and do not have a job lined up.

Here's our wish list!
- Great schools
- Good neighborhood for kids. Our kids are 7 and 3 and we'd really like to move to a block with lots of kids for them to play with.
- We need a large home 5000-7000 sq/ft and at least a 3 car garage. The work at home businesses have significant storage needs
- Home budget $450,000 - $675,000
- Preferably a home with a yard. It doesn't need to be huge, but just not one of those communities where they cram in as many houses as possible and give you a postage stamp sized yard.
- reasonably close to tech jobs. I'd prefer to avoid a long commute, preferably nothing more than 10-15 minutes. I don't like freeway driving first thing in the morning so a park-n-ride/bus situation might work.
- reasonably close to shopping center (mall/target/best buy) - 10 minutes or less preferably.
- less wind (not a big deal really, I just don't love being wind blown all the time)
- Some trees and rolling hills might be nice. Not a requirement, but I think total flat neighborhoods with no trees lack character.

Really we could move anywhere in the whole country but we're looking at the Denver area because: