Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Colorado > Denver
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-30-2008, 08:02 PM

9 posts, read 31,984 times

Advertisements

Hi everyone! I'm a 24yo artist/photographer/college grad from Memphis, TN who's considering a move to Denver with my musician boyfriend of 5 years. I'm looking for a fairly affordable city with a good arts and music scene. I'm looking for a safer city than Memphis (one of the worst in the US!). I'm a huge outdoors lover and would like to find a place with nice weather. Ideally, I'd love a place with good public transporation/walkable/bikeable. I have no ties to the area, just looking for a cool place to live. Denver has made it to my short list, and I was wondering if you guys have any feedback. What do you think of Denver? Do you like living there? How's the art/music scene?

Thanks in advance for any feedback!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-30-2008, 08:30 PM

26,329 posts, read 93,793,178 times
What is your budget for housing?
Have you looked for jobs and did you get a positive feel?

Old 06-30-2008, 09:16 PM

1,536 posts, read 6,090,627 times
Charles asks a good question about budget.

With respect to the art scene, it is well supported and alive. Here are some of my personal recommendations and places I frequent:

My favorites Musuems are:
Denver Art Museum
Museum of Contemporary Art
Colorado History Museum
Kirkland Museum
Museum of Natural History - only one not in the downtown area

Galleries: