Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Detroit
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-21-2011, 03:05 AM

2 posts, read 4,073 times

Advertisements

I'm a coming student in UDM. I will be here in Aug 28. cos it is the first time for me to come to the State, I do not know anyone here, and I haven't find a apartment yet. Unforturnately the deadline of aplication for school dorm has pasted.
what should I do now?? help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-21-2011, 08:00 AM

1,497 posts, read 3,490,640 times
Here's what you need to do, call UDM's student affairs office and tell them your situation. Ask them if they have any recommendations for off-campus housing. They might be able to point you towards some rentals in the neighborhood that are relatively safe and cater to students. I expect that you will have a car. If not, finding something across the street is going to be the best you can do.

I must inform you that the area of Detroit around UDM's McNichols campus is not a good area. Other than the homes in the "University District" neighborhood, the area is rough and I doubt you will want to live there. On top of that, there are not many rentals around campus. If you are going to live off-campus, you need look at areas outside of UDM's general vicinity.

If you have a car, there are 4 areas you should look at it: