Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Michigan > Detroit
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-03-2017, 12:26 PM

2 posts, read 4,694 times

Advertisements

I am a college student looking for a place to live for the summer. Is 8 mile rd and telegraph rd a safe area? I have never been to Michigan before, let alone Detroit, so I have no idea what to expect. What are some good areas in Detroit/Southfield/Farmington hills?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-03-2017, 02:14 PM

21 posts, read 27,215 times
It won't be as safe as some places like Oakland County but it's not an absolute destitute and crime-ridden area. That being said, I wouldn't recommend living there because it's not a particularly interesting area with things to do nearby.

Metro Detroit is a very large area with plenty of great areas to live. It would be helpful for recommendations to know what area you will be working/studying in.

Old 04-03-2017, 03:32 PM

2 posts, read 4,694 times
I will be working in the Novi/Wixom area, so it is a little ways away from downtown Detroit, but I am willing to make the commute. Would Ann Arbor be an interesting place to live in?

Old 04-03-2017, 03:37 PM

8,353 posts, read 7,295,821 times
Ann Arbor would be a most interesting place to live in. Think of it as a smaller Madison, Wisconsin - a liberal college town.

However, housing costs could be an issue.

Old 04-03-2017, 04:04 PM

21,088 posts, read 29,041,736 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by gkajiya View Post