U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Pets > Dogs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-06-2014, 04:51 PM

537 posts, read 1,118,555 times

Advertisements

Jack Marston (Mr. Marston, Marston, and Mar Mar for short). He is a four month old terrier mix we adopted from the humane society.

This is my first time owning a dog and luckily, my boyfriend is home to give him the attention and training he needs. The first day was definitely overwhelming, but I think my boyfriend and I are getting the hang of it.

A few questions I have:
  • We are crate training Marston. Is it okay to give him food and water within his crate? I feed him twice a day and make sure not to let him graze on food. Should I keep him from drinking water at a certain time, so he doesn't drink too much and eliminate in the crate?
  • He's pretty good walking on a leash, and he's starting to love the outdoors. This means that he's running around A LOT and pulling on the leash. How do I prevent this from happening so I'm not pulling too hard? I try my best to walk next to him or in front of him. I've heard that if he starts to do that, I should immediately turn the other way so he's now walking behind me.
  • Marston is more comfortable eliminating inside than he is outside. We take him out at least once an hour or two to walk and give him time. I can tell he wants to go, because he'll start whining and sniffing around. After a half hour, we'll head inside... and then he goes. How do I correct this? I make sure to use a good cleaner without ammonia.