U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-09-2011, 07:00 PM

5,019 posts, read 13,201,111 times

Advertisements

Some of you will get this. Many will not. That's OK.

I'm a visual artist by training, a naturalist at heart. I spend many hours outdoors (more on that later).

I know that there are many Smart People on City Data; some of you economists by education. I hope you can help me understand, visually, the current economic condition of the United States.

Is that too much to ask?

I'm mostly interested in Trickle-Down theory.

During the most recent down-turn I notice that "trickle-down" in the negative sense worked amazingly well? Did anyone else notice? I mean, Wall Street took a huge nose dive, banks went under, and suddenly hundreds, if not thousands,of maids and gardeners and other domestic help, lost their jobs. It was almost instantaneous.

The lower class middles soon followed suit, with factories shuttering their doors.

OK. Deep breath.

So FFW to NOW. We are supposedly in "recovery mode. The "rich" retained their tax breaks. Yay. Corporate profits are UP. Yay.

So, for the lower and middle classes: WHERE IS THE MONEY???

Is it hung up or "stuck" somewhere? How can we free it???

This is where the "outside" part fits in: When I am out hiking and I see a small creek or stream or waterfall that is "blocked" by leaves or other debris, I always stop to free things up (yeah plaidmom f's with mother nature-get over it! ).