U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-23-2011, 03:28 PM

35 posts, read 65,699 times

Advertisements

Does anybody here work in IT? I want to know what your thoughts are on IT certifications. Are they worth it at all? I have a lot of experience, but I'm beginning to think that the certifications will help me get the foot in the door.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-23-2011, 04:28 PM

12,671 posts, read 21,988,934 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayWatson View Post
Does anybody here work in IT? I want to know what your thoughts are on IT certifications. Are they worth it at all? I have a lot of experience, but I'm beginning to think that the certifications will help me get the foot in the door.
I do. Its only worth it if your company guarantees a certain amount of salary for certain amount of time.

Which certs do you have now?

Old 06-23-2011, 04:49 PM

493 posts, read 860,253 times
Depends on the cert and the job. Are you looking at a PHP developer or database administrator? An Oracle DBA cert would look great. The W3Schools PHP cert, not so much. A+ is losing a lot of clout, but still good in some fields.

Another thing to consider, some companies will throw your resume out if you have a/too many certs. If they want to pay say 50K a year and you have 5 certs, they may be afraid you will not be happy with their offer and skip over you.