U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-17-2008, 03:03 PM

6 posts, read 43,008 times

Advertisements

Hello! Newbie here....please be kind.

I am hoping someone can assist me with some advice....in 1998 I got a Discover credit card & then went thru a divorce becoming unable to pay on it. It charged off in Dec 1999 & honestly with everything that has gone on in my life over the last 8 years I forgot about it. Well March 13, 2008 I got my paycheck but it was short so I researched it & found there was a garnishment attached. I checked the DuPage County Circuit Court website to no avail so I went to the Cook County website & there it was....some attorney's office on behalf of HBLC, Inc. started going to court 3/7/07 & was able to obtain a judgement & a court approved garnishment. I have never been served at my home nor thru work. I requested a copy of anything received from my HR department which I received & forwarded to my attorney. Here are my questions.....
#1 in IL isnt the statute of limitations on credit cards 5 years?
#2 how could they do this if they never served me with paperwork?
#3 do i have a leg to stand on in fighting this? (My attorney says he is going to get a copy of the original summons & upon seeing that I was never served he will go to court to get it vacated)
#4 will I get any monies back from this attorney's office?

Thank you for your time & I look forward to reading any responses given.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-17-2008, 03:12 PM