Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-29-2008, 01:58 PM

169 posts, read 1,069,646 times

Advertisements

I've also posted this one of the real estate sites. They recommended I post this question on the finacial site since we've gotten no answers there yet. I'm a broker in Florida and own a title company so we've seen a fair number of sales/borrowers/loans close over the years.

I'm hoping a lender or fund manager out there can shine a little light on this...

In the middle of all the failed loans and compromised lender situations we're in, I don't know why I'm not hearing anyone else in the media talking about/addressing this issue.... What happened to PMI???

If borrowers who had less than 20% equity in their properties at the time of funding - were required to purchase/carry PMI (Mortgage Insurance) to cover the higher risks associated with their potential default - then why are the investors who bought these (now failing) bundled notes getting hung out to dry when the borrowers fail to repay? (ie: Bear Stearns/ Goldman/ Lehman/ MoganStanley)

- I know some lenders wrote splilt notes (one at 80% and one at 20% to get to 100% and ducked the PMI) those did occur but they were the exception. We saw many many loans close with PMI charged to borrowers.

So... where did the insurance money go? Who got it? What is it paying off? What percent of these high LTV loans that are going into default were stabilized by the PMI?