U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-02-2008, 03:14 PM

2,111 posts, read 7,465,826 times

Advertisements

I am new to HSBC Direct and decided to close my new account with them after what happened to me. I did a valid transfer from HSBC to my checking account. The money was deposited about a week ago, the fraud and security decided to cancel the transfer and lock me out of online banking. I just got in from being away, I had to call them, go back to the original acct and get a statement to prove this is where the money came from. Now mind you, I was linked to both checking accounts and trial deposits were verified. She asked me why I was taking the money out within one week after just depositing it. I told her i needed the money, things change. So I did email my statement of the bank it came from. This balance was already as "balance available" in HSBC, I did everything right.
I called customer service back and complained the way I was treated. The security at HSBC was to me, overkill. Now the money ($5000) never left HSBC, but my balance shows $20. If this transfer was a red flag???, where did my money go if it never left HSBC. When I called to complain, the manager told me my online status would be reactivated and the money should show up next business day. She (the person from security) was a bit arrogant, making me feel like I did something wrong.
I made it clear to HSBC I will be closing the account in the near future.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message