U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-11-2009, 10:22 AM

146 posts, read 478,589 times

Advertisements

How are the house flippers doing in this market are you still making money or is it starting to get difficult.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-11-2009, 12:50 PM

4,711 posts, read 11,189,330 times
They just take a little longer to sell, is all.

I've been flipping for 30+ years....before the term was coined, LOL.

I just do it for recreation, though...I'm retired from the US Government, so I never quit my "day job" to flip.

What I've always done is find structurally sound, but rundown SFHs in decent neighborhoods. I do all, or most, of the renovations myself and I don't go overboard on the fancy stuff.

So, the tons of foreclosures these days makes for great pickings...the best I have ever seen!

My last flip (last year) was a vacant foreclosure in a neighborhood of mid $300K SFHs. Kids had broken in and trashed the place including starting a fairly serious fire. I got it from the bank for $125K cash....put about a $100K into it and sold it for $330K (I price 'em to move!).

It's fun, and gives me something to do and turn a pretty good coin to boot!

The BIG thing is don't pay too much for them and don't overimprove. I have low-ball bids in now on 4 houses and I don't care if I get them or not, there will be plenty more. Also, I have the advantage of paying cash...I can settle in hours, and distressed sellers like that!

Old 01-12-2009, 07:55 AM

3,553 posts, read 7,067,329 times