U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-14-2009, 09:19 PM

138 posts, read 332,239 times

Advertisements

Are you set to graduate college in 2009? You might want to rethink it if you are, and either take fewer classes or take a year off from school and try to graduate into a better economy. Here is an excellent article explaining it.

Attention Class of 2009—Don't Graduate! - Millennial Money with Cliff Mason - CNBC.com

I graduated in 2008, landed a respectable job at a high salary right out of college, but lost it a few months later due to the credit crunch. I have since found another job but I am making barely half what I was making in my job right out of college. It will take me years and years to get back to where I was in Summer of 2008.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-14-2009, 09:29 PM

19,089 posts, read 20,632,263 times
So you are telling them to incur more debt and not get a job? Doesn't sound like good advice to me...

Old 01-14-2009, 10:01 PM
Rei

494 posts, read 1,648,603 times
Quote:
I graduated in 2008, landed a respectable job at a high salary right out of college, but lost it a few months later due to the credit crunch.
Mind if I ask you what and where did you study, and what were you working as before?

Old 01-15-2009, 12:23 AM

3,853 posts, read 11,846,987 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilnewbie View Post
So you are telling them to incur more debt and not get a job? Doesn't sound like good advice to me...