U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 01-16-2009, 01:32 PM

614 posts, read 1,076,125 times

Advertisements

Hi all,

Not sure if this belongs here and if not, mod please move.

It's long so please bear with me. Thank you.

I'm a small business owner in a retail mall here in Texas. Now I've had my business up since 1999. When I signed the lease with the mall, my CAM that I pay includes everything except electricity and phone. Now this includes 'waste management'. Now back in 2005 or so, the owning group of the mall sold the mall to another group. Now that transaction was seemless and nothing different. We didn't have to sign a new lease or anything. Basically nothing different on our part. Now, this new group decides to not to pay for 'waste management' anymore and leaves it to the waste management group to collect from the tenants. I never received any notice or anything. I basically didn't know of the change until I get a collections call from waste management. I told them that I never signed anything with them and not paying for their service cause I never the dumpster for anything anyways. Once again, I never signed a contract or anything with them so I told them I'm not paying them. I've talked to them at least 10 times to 10 different people explaning to them. Everytime they basically said ok and they'll look into it. But again, someone new will call that really doesn't know anything and I'm tired of wasting my breath. What can I do? I've talked to the mall and they basically washed their hands from it.