Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 03-02-2012, 06:41 PM

173 posts, read 353,724 times

Advertisements

I am a 10th grade student at a public school in Milwaukee. Got a question and a rant for you.

NOTE: This is not a rant dictating why I don't like school.

I've read this online, and learned this based on the staff handbook and how my teachers have been reacting to students.

It appears that teachers have more rights than students. The rights are not given by the Constitution, they're given by their individual school or school district.

They have the right to yell at you for even the first slightest offense you make such as walking around before class starts, coming to the principal's office without a pass, unintentionally breaking the rules, etc.

They don't have to apologize for being rude, or say 'please' and 'thank you' because these school officials believe that just because they're adults, they are better than students.

There is a number of things I disagree with about this statement.

Firstly, basically giving teachers more rights (or telling students that they have more rights) could interfere with the number of students who actually 'want' to get an education. Why would anyone want to be educated by a stubborn teacher who thinks they have more authority just because they're 'grown' and get paid to do so? Believe it or not, it's actually increases the number of drop-outs there are.