U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Education
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 08-06-2020, 06:13 AM

385 posts, read 72,367 times

Advertisements

I have been looking into this. I have two young children. I doubt they will do well wearing masks all day and staying a way from other children and their teacher. Our district has yet to make a final decision of either hybrid or remote only.

I'm thinking remote only with a pod of kids (4 or 5) and one tutor. These families bubble together. I'm still learning about it, but this seems like it would be the least disruptive option that could allow for a more normal class set up.

Is this on your mind?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Micro-schooling

https://www.microschoolrevolution.co...r-microschool/
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-06-2020, 08:32 AM

Location: We_tside PNW (Columbia Gorge) / CO / SA TX / Thailand
26,172 posts, read 43,937,903 times
We essentially did this while...
  • Within homeschool group of neighbors
  • Living and working overseas
  • Living on an island in BC
  • living on farms and ranches

Finding like minded families can be a challenge, as independent families each have independent ideas, but it is possible, especially when parents realize flexibility and variety is as good of a teacher as 'optimal' studies. (unschooling theme vs, strict academics)

Kids are very resilient and creative learners.
Give them a chance.

Old 08-06-2020, 09:00 PM

9,279 posts, read 9,607,535 times